The Department of Mathematics/ICT came into existence during the migration of Colleges of Education from Post-Secondary Teacher Education to Diploma in Basic Education awarding institutions. Hitherto the department was not an amalgam of two units of mathematics and ICT. It was simply department of mathematics. It by then recorded HODs such as Messrs. John Yeboah (a former Vice Principal), Ato Essuman, among others.

Two sectional departments; Mathematics and ICT combined under one umbrella to form this department. The first HoD was Mr. Gideon Fianya from the ICT section. He was succeeded by Mr. Albert Dominic Baidoo and followed by Mr. Daniel Kofi Nkum both from the mathematics section of the department.